CBSA Database

The term "CBSA" refers collectively to both metropolitan statistical areas and micropolitan areas. Micropolitan areas are based on Census Bureau-defined urban clusters of at least 10,000 and fewer than 50,000 people.

The database comes with quarterly updates for one year.

The following columns are included:

1. Zip Code 

2. City

3. State

4. CSACode

5. CSAName

6. CBSACode

7. CBSAName

8. CBSAType

9. IsMetroDivision

10. DivisionCode

11. DivisionName

12. CountyFIPS

13. StateFIPS

14. PSA

15. PSALevel


Download a Sample North Dakota database

CBSA North Dakota Sample


After you purchase, go to the page Downloadable Products to download the database


A Core Based Statistical Area (CBSA) is a U.S. geographic area defined by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) that consists of one or more counties (or equivalents) anchored by an urban center of at least 10,000 people plus adjacent counties that are socioeconomically tied to the urban center by commuting. Areas defined on the basis of these standards applied to Census 2000 data were announced by OMB in June 2003. These standards are used to replace the definitions of metropolitan areas that were defined in 1990. The OMB released new standards based on the 2010 Census on July 15, 2015.[1][2][3]

CBSA (Wiki)